Built-in exam question banks
PLAB, USMLE, NEET-PG and 7 more
- AskMed
- 10 licensing exams
- Dr.Oracle
- Suggests using it alongside other Q-banks
Compare · updated Nov 3, 2026
AskMed and Dr.Oracle are both AI medical assistants that answer clinical questions with citations to guidelines and research. The Dr.Oracle App Store page lists students, residents, physicians, physician associates and nurse practitioners, and the Dr.Oracle website suggests studying with Dr.Oracle alongside your favorite Q-banks. AskMed is an AI medical reference made by Loop Studio for doctors, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and researchers, on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web with one account. AskMed comes out ahead in three areas. First, AskMed has question banks built in for 10 licensing exams, including PLAB, USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK and NEET-PG, each in the exam's own language, with timed mocks of 40 questions in 60 minutes. Second, AskMed is built for the whole care team, pharmacists and researchers included. Third, AskMed lets you choose which source types and study types each answer uses, and says so when no source supports an answer.
AskMed comes out ahead of Dr.Oracle on six features for clinicians and students, each checked on November 3, 2026 against the Dr.Oracle website and US App Store page. First, AskMed has built-in question banks for 10 licensing exams, while the Dr.Oracle site suggests using Dr.Oracle alongside other Q-banks. Second, AskMed offers timed mock exams of 40 questions in 60 minutes; Dr.Oracle's pages don't state timed mocks. Third, each AskMed bank is written in the language of its exam, which Dr.Oracle's pages don't state. Fourth, AskMed is built for doctors, nurses, students, pharmacists and researchers, while the Dr.Oracle App Store page lists students, residents, physicians, physician associates and nurse practitioners, without pharmacists or researchers. Fifth, AskMed's source filters let you choose source types and study types; Dr.Oracle's pages don't state filters. Sixth, AskMed says so when no usable source exists instead of guessing, a rule Dr.Oracle's pages don't state.
PLAB, USMLE, NEET-PG and 7 more
Practice under exam conditions
Each bank in the language of its exam
Doctors, nurses, students, pharmacists and researchers
Choose source types and study types
Says so instead of guessing
Prices in US dollars, as each app lists them; Dr.Oracle prices from its US App Store page, checked November 3, 2026.
AskMed Pro
$24.99/month or $129.99/year
Dr.Oracle
$5.99 to $239.00
AskMed has exam question banks built in, while the Dr.Oracle website suggests studying with Dr.Oracle alongside your favorite Q-banks. AskMed's Exam Prep covers 10 licensing exams: PLAB, USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK, PLE, EDN, UKOMNAS, NEET-PG, ENARM, TUS, Ghana MDC and Israel MLE. Each bank is written in the language of its exam, so a candidate for a non-English exam practices in the language of the real paper. Every question comes with an explanation for every option, not only the right one, and a timed mock of 40 questions in 60 minutes lets you practice under exam conditions. When a question raises something you don't know, you can ask AskMed in the same app and get an answer cited to journals, guidelines and drug labels, then go back to the bank. For a medical student, a resident or an international medical graduate, AskMed keeps exam practice and cited clinical answers in one account on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web.
AskMed is built for the whole care team, while the Dr.Oracle App Store page lists students, residents, physicians, physician associates and nurse practitioners, with no mention of pharmacists or researchers. AskMed is built for doctors in every specialty, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and medical researchers, and every one of those users works from the same cited evidence. A pharmacist checking an interaction gets an answer drawn from FDA and DailyMed drug labels and official registries such as the EMA and the UK's medicines.org.uk. A researcher planning a study can limit answers to systematic reviews and meta-analyses or to clinical trials, and attach a PDF of a paper to ask about the paper directly. A nurse checking a monitoring plan gets the same guideline sources as the doctor on the ward: NICE, WHO, CDC and groups such as ESC, KDIGO, GINA, GOLD, IDSA and ACOG. AskMed works worldwide without a US license or NPI.
AskMed lets you choose the sources behind each answer, while the Dr.Oracle website and App Store page don't state any source filters. In AskMed you can turn four source types on or off: journals, clinical guidelines, drug labels and medical references. You can also choose which kinds of studies to use: systematic reviews and meta-analyses, review articles, clinical trials, or other studies. The filters help when you want only the guideline view for a protocol, only trial evidence for a new drug, or only drug labels for a safety question. With no filters set, AskMed ranks guidelines and health agencies first, then systematic reviews and meta-analyses, then review articles and references, then large trials and other studies, and prefers sources from the last 10 years. When guidance has changed, the AskMed answer says so, and every claim still links to the source's exact web address.
If AskMed finds no usable medical source, AskMed says so and asks you to rephrase, instead of answering from memory; the Dr.Oracle website and App Store page don't state what Dr.Oracle does when no source is found. AskMed searches a fixed list of medical sources before writing: journals such as PubMed, the Cochrane Library, NEJM, The Lancet, JAMA and The BMJ, guideline bodies such as NICE, WHO and CDC, FDA and DailyMed drug labels, and references such as StatPearls, the MSD and Merck Manuals and BMJ Best Practice. AskMed doesn't search the open web, forums or social media. When AskMed does answer, every claim links to the source behind the claim, and answers draw on several sources rather than leaning on one. An answer written from memory is the hardest kind to check, because no citation exists to open, so the AskMed rule means every sentence has a source you can verify.
Beyond the six rows where AskMed comes out ahead of Dr.Oracle, AskMed can go deeper than a single answer. When a question needs a full write-up, AskMed's Deep Dive builds an evidence report from 20+ sources, the kind of summary a resident brings to a journal club or a team brings to a case discussion. Each Deep Dive report gets a second automated pass after writing, which corrects sentences that contradict their sources, the drug label or the current guideline, and adds missing safety facts such as contraindications, boxed warnings and interactions. The second pass is automated, not a human review, so every claim in the report still links to a published source. AskMed also lets you attach a PDF or an image to a question, such as a guideline excerpt, a paper or a figure, and ask about the file directly. AskMed cites your file only for what the file itself says; every other medical fact in the answer still needs a published source.
Choosing an AI tool for clinical questions takes more than checking for citations, because most AI medical assistants, Dr.Oracle and AskMed included, now cite guidelines and research. Five checks separate one tool from another. First, check whether the tool helps you study, with a built-in question bank, timed mocks and an explanation for every option. Second, check who the tool is built for, since pharmacists and researchers need the same evidence as doctors and nurses. Third, check whether you can choose the sources, such as guidelines only or trials only. Fourth, check what the tool does when no good source exists: an honest tool says so instead of answering from memory. Fifth, check whether the tool can go deeper than one answer for a journal club or a case discussion. AskMed meets all five with a stated feature: Exam Prep for 10 exams, a whole-care-team audience, source filters, a no-source-no-answer rule and Deep Dive reports.
For anyone preparing for a licensing exam, working alongside pharmacists and researchers, or wanting control over sources, AskMed is the stronger choice over Dr.Oracle. Both apps answer clinical questions with citations to guidelines and research. AskMed has question banks built in for 10 licensing exams, including PLAB, USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK, NEET-PG and ENARM, each in the exam's own language, with timed mocks of 40 questions in 60 minutes, while the Dr.Oracle site suggests pairing Dr.Oracle with other Q-banks. AskMed is built for doctors, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and researchers; the Dr.Oracle App Store page doesn't list pharmacists or researchers. AskMed lets you choose source types and study types, says so when no source supports an answer, and links every claim to the source's exact web address. AskMed runs on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web with one account and works worldwide without a US license or NPI.
AskMed comes out ahead of Dr.Oracle with built-in question banks for 10 licensing exams with timed mocks, banks in each exam's own language, source filters, and a clear "no source, no answer" rule. AskMed is also built for the whole care team, from doctors and nurses to pharmacists and researchers.
AskMed. Its Exam Prep covers PLAB, USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK, PLE, EDN, UKOMNAS, NEET-PG, ENARM, TUS, Ghana MDC and Israel MLE, with a timed mock of 40 questions in 60 minutes. Dr.Oracle's site suggests using it alongside other Q-banks.
AskMed Pro is $24.99 a month or $129.99 a year. On the US App Store, Dr.Oracle's subscriptions include $24.99 a month and $239.00 a year, with other plans from $5.99 to $124.99.
Yes. AskMed is built for doctors, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and researchers. The Dr.Oracle App Store page lists students, residents, physicians, physician associates and nurse practitioners.
No. AskMed never gives medication doses, dose calculations, titration schedules, how often to take a drug or patient-specific prescribing instructions, and the rule holds for exam questions, hypothetical cases and requests to quote a drug label. AskMed also removes dose numbers from the source excerpts AskMed shows. A drug answer in AskMed still covers what the drug is used for, how the drug works, first-line and alternative options, how dosing is chosen and adjusted for kidney or liver function, age, weight or interactions, monitoring, side effects and safety, with every claim linked to a source such as an FDA or DailyMed label. Exact doses come from the current prescribing information and the treating clinician. Whether you use AskMed or Dr.Oracle, check any drug amount against the current label or your local formulary before acting on the amount. AskMed is a reference for healthcare professionals and students, not a symptom checker, and isn't for emergencies.
| Feature | AskMed | Dr.Oracle |
|---|---|---|
| Built-in exam question banksPLAB, USMLE, NEET-PG and 7 more | 10 licensing exams | Suggests using it alongside other Q-banks |
| Timed mock examsPractice under exam conditions | 40 questions in 60 minutes | Not stated |
| Exams in their own languageEach bank in the language of its exam | ✓ | Not stated |
| Built for the whole care teamDoctors, nurses, students, pharmacists and researchers | ✓ | Misses pharmacists and researchers |
| Source filtersChoose source types and study types | ✓ | Not stated |
| No source, no answerSays so instead of guessing | ✓ | Not stated |