Built for everyone in medicine
Doctors, nurses, students, pharmacists, researchers
- AskMed
- ✓
- OpenEvidence
- Misses clinicians without a US NPI
- ChatGPT for Clinicians
- Misses medical students and non-clinical researchers
Compare · updated 3 November 2026
OpenEvidence, ChatGPT for Clinicians and AskMed all answer clinical questions with citations to published evidence. OpenEvidence is a clinical decision support and medical search app for healthcare professionals, and its App Store listing says an NPI is required. ChatGPT for Clinicians is a version of ChatGPT that OpenAI launched in April 2026 for verified US clinicians: physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and pharmacists with a National Provider Identifier and a license that can be verified. AskMed is an AI medical reference made by Loop Studio for everyone in medicine: doctors, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and researchers. AskMed searches a fixed list of medical sources, such as PubMed, the Cochrane Library, NEJM, NICE, WHO, CDC and FDA drug labels, and links every claim to its source. AskMed works worldwide on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web, with one account and no NPI or US license needed, and adds exam prep for 10 licensing exams.
AskMed comes out ahead of both OpenEvidence and ChatGPT for Clinicians on seven features, each checked on November 3, 2026 against OpenEvidence's website and App Store listing and against OpenAI's ChatGPT for Clinicians announcement, plan page and help center. First, AskMed is built for everyone in medicine, while OpenEvidence asks for an NPI and ChatGPT for Clinicians asks for an NPI and a clinical license. Second, AskMed works worldwide, and ChatGPT for Clinicians is open only to verified US clinicians at launch. Third, AskMed includes Exam Prep for 10 licensing exams, which neither of the others states. Fourth, AskMed carries no pharma advertising, while OpenEvidence's App Store listing says the app contains advertising. Fifth, AskMed's source filters let you pick source types, study types and 3 to 12 sources. Sixth, AskMed checks official drug registries outside the US, such as the EMA. Seventh, AskMed says so when it finds no source. Each card below shows one row.
Doctors, nurses, students, pharmacists, researchers
No NPI or US license needed
PLAB, USMLE, NEET-PG and 7 more
No sponsored answers
Source types, study types, 3 to 12 sources
EMA and medicines.org.uk for local brand names
No answers from memory
ChatGPT for Clinicians is a version of ChatGPT that OpenAI launched in April 2026 for clinical work by verified US clinicians. OpenAI's help center lists physicians (MD/DO), nurse practitioners, physician assistants and pharmacists as eligible, and sign-up needs a ChatGPT account, a valid National Provider Identifier (NPI) and a license that a third-party provider can verify. ChatGPT for Clinicians offers clinical search over peer-reviewed studies, public health guidance and clinical guidelines, with citations that list titles, journals and publication dates; deep research, which compiles a cited report; reusable skills for documentation such as referral letters and patient instructions; and continuing medical education credit for eligible evidence review. OpenAI says clinical search chooses its sources itself, so clinicians don't set databases or filters. ChatGPT for Clinicians is separate from ChatGPT for Healthcare, OpenAI's product for health systems, and from ChatGPT Health, OpenAI's health space for consumers. AskMed covers the reference side of that list, cited answers, for clinicians and students in any country.
OpenEvidence and ChatGPT for Clinicians differ most in where they come from and what content they license. OpenEvidence is a medical search engine built for healthcare professionals; its App Store listing names content partners including the New England Journal of Medicine, JAMA and its 11 specialty journals, the National Comprehensive Cancer Network, Nature, the Cochrane Library and Wiley, and says answers draw on more than 35 million peer-reviewed papers plus FDA and CDC sources. ChatGPT for Clinicians is OpenAI's general assistant adapted for clinical work, with clinical search, deep research and documentation skills in one ChatGPT workspace. Both are built around US practice: OpenEvidence's listing says an NPI is required, and ChatGPT for Clinicians checks an NPI and a license at sign-up. Neither states a question bank for licensing exams, and neither states source filters you set on an everyday question. AskMed fills those gaps for clinicians outside the US, for students, and for anyone who wants to choose the evidence behind an answer.
ChatGPT for Clinicians is not open to clinicians outside the US yet. OpenAI's help center says that at launch ChatGPT for Clinicians is available to verified clinicians in the United States and that OpenAI plans to expand access to more countries over time. As of November 3, 2026, OpenAI has published no date for any other country, so a clinician in Canada or Australia can't sign up yet. OpenEvidence is also built around US credentials: its App Store listing describes a medical search engine for healthcare professionals with "NPI Required", and the NPI is a US identifier. AskMed works worldwide and needs no NPI or US license, so a doctor in the UK, a pharmacist in Nigeria or a student in India uses the same app as a resident in the US. AskMed also searches non-US guidelines and agencies, such as NICE, WHO, ECDC and ESC, and drug registries such as the EMA.
AskMed is built for everyone in medicine, while OpenEvidence and ChatGPT for Clinicians are built around verified US providers. AskMed is for doctors, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and researchers, and an AskMed account needs no license number. ChatGPT for Clinicians lists physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and pharmacists as eligible and asks for a license that can be verified, so medical students and researchers without a clinical license fall outside it. OpenEvidence's App Store listing describes a tool for healthcare professionals with "NPI Required" and says users must verify their healthcare professional status before using OpenEvidence, so a clinician without a US NPI falls outside the group it names. AskMed answers in the terms, drug classes and guideline names a colleague would use, so a nurse checking a monitoring plan, a pharmacist reviewing an interaction, a student revising for finals or a researcher scoping a question gets the same answer, with a source after each claim. AskMed is not a symptom checker and doesn't diagnose patients.
AskMed includes Exam Prep for 10 licensing exams, while OpenEvidence and ChatGPT for Clinicians state no question bank for licensing exams. AskMed's question banks cover PLAB, USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK, PLE, EDN, UKOMNAS, NEET-PG, ENARM, TUS, Ghana MDC and Israel MLE. Each bank is written in the language of its exam, so a candidate for a non-English exam practices in the language of the real paper. Every question comes with an explanation for every option, not only the right one, and a timed mock of 40 questions in 60 minutes lets you practice under exam conditions. When a question raises something you don't know, you can ask AskMed in the same app and get an answer cited to journals, guidelines and drug labels, then go back to the bank. For a medical student, a resident or an international medical graduate, AskMed keeps exam practice and cited clinical answers in one account on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web, in any country.
For the US exams, the best AI apps for USMLE guide compares AskMed with other study tools for Step 1 and Step 2 CK, and the PLAB 1 guide does the same for the UK exam.
AskMed answers a clinical question by searching a fixed list of medical sources first and writing the answer only from what that search finds. The list covers journals and databases such as PubMed, the Cochrane Library, NEJM, The Lancet, JAMA and The BMJ; guidelines and agencies such as NICE, the USPSTF, WHO, CDC and ECDC; FDA and DailyMed drug labels, plus official registries such as the EMA and the UK's medicines.org.uk for local brand names; and references such as StatPearls and the MSD Manual. AskMed ranks guidelines first, then systematic reviews and meta-analyses, and prefers sources from the last 10 years. Source filters let you turn journals, guidelines, drug labels or references on or off, pick study types and set 3 to 12 sources per answer. Every claim links to its source's exact web address. If AskMed finds no usable source, AskMed says so and asks you to rephrase instead of answering from memory. AskMed never gives drug doses; exact amounts come from the current label.
Two modes go further than a single answer. Research Mode reads up to 20 papers for one question, and Deep Dive writes a full evidence report from 20+ sources, with a second automated pass that corrects sentences contradicting their sources and adds missing safety facts. How AskMed answers explains the sources, citations and limits in full.
Choosing between OpenEvidence, ChatGPT for Clinicians and AskMed comes down to five checks, because all three cite their sources. First, check whether you can sign up: OpenEvidence and ChatGPT for Clinicians verify US credentials, which leaves out clinicians abroad, and ChatGPT for Clinicians also asks for a clinical license that medical students don't hold. Second, check where the tool works: ChatGPT for Clinicians is limited to the US at launch. Third, check whether you control the sources: filters for source types, study types and the number of sources let you match the evidence to the question. Fourth, check whether the tool helps you study for a licensing exam in the same app. Fifth, check who pays for the tool, since advertising can sit next to clinical answers, and OpenEvidence's App Store listing says the app contains advertising. AskMed meets all five checks with a stated feature: built for everyone in medicine, worldwide access with no NPI, source filters, Exam Prep for 10 exams and no pharma advertising.
AskMed is the strongest all-round pick of the three for people who work or study in medicine. OpenEvidence and ChatGPT for Clinicians both answer clinical questions with citations, but both are built around verified US providers: OpenEvidence's App Store listing says an NPI is required, and ChatGPT for Clinicians asks for an NPI and a license that can be verified and is limited to the US at launch. AskMed is built for everyone in medicine, from doctors, residents and medical students to nurses, pharmacists and researchers, and works worldwide on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web with one account and no NPI. AskMed adds Exam Prep for 10 licensing exams, source filters you set on every question, official drug registries beyond the FDA such as the EMA, and a plain reply when no source supports an answer. AskMed carries no pharma advertising, while OpenEvidence's listing says the app contains advertising. AskMed works in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese and Arabic.
ChatGPT for Clinicians is a version of ChatGPT that OpenAI launched in April 2026 for verified US clinicians, with clinical search, cited answers, deep research and documentation skills. OpenAI lists physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and pharmacists as eligible, with a valid NPI and a license that can be verified.
Not yet. OpenAI says ChatGPT for Clinicians is available to verified clinicians in the United States at launch and plans to add more countries over time, without a date. AskMed works worldwide and needs no NPI or US license.
OpenEvidence's App Store listing says "NPI Required" and that users must verify their healthcare professional status before using OpenEvidence. AskMed needs no NPI.
AskMed. It includes Exam Prep for PLAB, USMLE, PLE, EDN, UKOMNAS, NEET-PG, ENARM, TUS, Ghana MDC and Israel MLE, with explanations for every option and timed mocks. Neither OpenEvidence nor ChatGPT for Clinicians states a question bank for licensing exams.
Yes. AskMed is built for everyone in medicine: doctors, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and researchers, in any country, on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web.
No. AskMed never gives medication doses, dose calculations or titration schedules, even for exam questions or hypothetical cases. A drug answer still covers what the drug is used for, how it works, first-line and alternative options, how dosing is adjusted for kidney or liver function, monitoring, side effects and safety, with each claim linked to its source. Exact doses come from the current prescribing information and the treating clinician.
| Feature | AskMed | OpenEvidence | ChatGPT for Clinicians |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for everyone in medicineDoctors, nurses, students, pharmacists, researchers | ✓ | Misses clinicians without a US NPI | Misses medical students and non-clinical researchers |
| Works outside the USNo NPI or US license needed | Worldwide | NPI required | US only at launch |
| Exam prepPLAB, USMLE, NEET-PG and 7 more | 10 licensing exams | Not stated | Not stated |
| No pharma advertisingNo sponsored answers | ✓ | App Store: "Contains Advertising" | Not stated |
| Source filters on every questionSource types, study types, 3 to 12 sources | ✓ | Not stated | Clinical search picks its sources itself |
| Drug registries outside the USEMA and medicines.org.uk for local brand names | ✓ | Not stated | Not stated |
| Says so when no source is foundNo answers from memory | ✓ | Not stated | Not stated |