Available outside the US
Use it wherever you practise or study
- AskMed
- Worldwide, no license number needed
- Doximity GPT
- Verified US clinicians only
Compare · updated Nov 6, 2026
AskMed and Doximity GPT are both AI assistants that answer clinical questions with citations. Doximity GPT, also known as DoxGPT, is the clinical AI assistant inside Doximity, the network of US clinicians, and Doximity now calls it Ask. Doximity's Ask page says access is for verified US clinicians, and the Doximity app pairs Ask with Scribe for visit notes and Dialer for patient calls. AskMed is an AI medical reference made by Loop Studio for doctors, nurses, medical students, pharmacists and researchers in any country. Before AskMed writes an answer, AskMed searches a fixed list of medical sources, such as PubMed, the Cochrane Library, NEJM, The Lancet, JAMA, The BMJ, NICE, WHO, CDC and FDA drug labels, and links every claim to the source behind it. AskMed runs on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web with one account, in seven languages, and needs no US license or NPI.
AskMed comes out ahead of Doximity GPT on seven features, each checked on November 5, 2026 against Doximity's Ask page, the Doximity help center, the Doximity blog and the Doximity app's US App Store listing. First, AskMed works in every country, while Doximity's Ask page says access is for verified US clinicians and its help center says all members must be verified U.S. healthcare professionals. Second, AskMed carries no pharma advertising, and the Doximity app's App Store listing says the app contains advertising. Third, AskMed's source filters let you choose source types, study types and 3 to 12 sources per answer. Fourth, AskMed checks official drug registries outside the US, such as the EMA and the UK's medicines.org.uk. Fifth, AskMed includes question banks for 10 licensing exams. Sixth, AskMed says so when it finds no source instead of answering from memory. Seventh, the AskMed app comes in seven languages, while the Doximity listing names English only. Each card below shows one row.
Use it wherever you practise or study
No sponsored answers
Source types, study types, 3 to 12 sources
EMA and medicines.org.uk for local brand names
PLAB, USMLE, NEET-PG and 7 more
No answers from memory
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Arabic
Doximity GPT is the clinical AI assistant from Doximity, Inc., whose App Store listing calls Doximity the largest network of U.S. clinicians. Doximity has also called the assistant Doximity GPT and DoxGPT; a Doximity blog post of May 7, 2026 calls it "Ask, formerly known as DoxGPT" and introduces the Doximity Clinical AI Suite, which brings together Ask, Scribe and Dialer. Doximity's Ask page lists finding evidence, checking drug safety, drafting letters such as prior authorization appeals, clinical calculators, differential diagnosis, diagnostic workup and comparing treatments. The page says inline citations help clinicians inspect the sources behind an answer, that Ask is HIPAA compliant, that more than 12,000 physicians guide Ask through Doximity's PeerCheck program, and that Ask now shows a second opinion from UpToDate alongside its own answer. Doximity's blog adds a drug reference of more than 3,200 drug monographs and full-text PDF access for more than 2,000 journals. Doximity says Ask runs on the web, Mac, Windows, iOS and Android.
For a review of the wider field, including OpenEvidence, ChatGPT for Clinicians and UpToDate Expert AI, see the best AI apps for doctors.
AskMed and Doximity GPT both write answers with citations, but AskMed publishes the list of sources it searches and lets you set the evidence behind each answer. AskMed searches journals and databases such as PubMed, the Cochrane Library, NEJM, The Lancet, JAMA and The BMJ; guidelines and agencies such as NICE, the USPSTF, WHO, CDC, ECDC and ESC; FDA and DailyMed drug labels, plus official registries such as the EMA and the UK's medicines.org.uk for local brand names; and references such as StatPearls and the MSD Manual. AskMed ranks guidelines first, then systematic reviews and meta-analyses, and prefers sources from the last 10 years. Source filters turn journals, guidelines, drug labels or references on or off, pick study types and set 3 to 12 sources per answer. Doximity says Ask answers with inline citations and draws on peer-reviewed literature and its own drug reference; its pages don't state user-set source filters or what Ask does when it finds no evidence.
How AskMed answers lists every source and limit in full.
AskMed is open to anyone who works or studies in medicine in any country, while Doximity GPT sits inside a network built for US clinicians. Doximity's Ask page says access is for verified US clinicians, and Doximity's help center states that all Doximity members must be registered and verified U.S. healthcare professionals. That leaves out a GP in Manchester, a nurse in Manila, a pharmacist in Lagos, a resident in Delhi and a researcher in Toronto. For them, AskMed is the Doximity GPT alternative that covers the same core job: a cited answer to a clinical question, on a phone or in a browser. AskMed needs no NPI and no license number. One AskMed account works on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web, and AskMed searches NICE, WHO, ECDC and ESC guidance alongside US sources such as the CDC and the USPSTF, so you can name your country in the question and get the guidance that applies where you practise.
For other tools that work outside the US, see OpenEvidence alternatives for doctors outside the US and AskMed vs OpenEvidence.
AskMed includes question banks for 10 licensing exams, and Doximity's Ask page and the Doximity app's App Store listing mention no question bank. AskMed's banks cover PLAB, USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK, PLE, EDN, UKOMNAS, NEET-PG, ENARM, TUS, Ghana MDC and Israel MLE, and each bank is written in the language of its exam, such as French for EDN, Spanish for ENARM and Turkish for TUS. Every question comes with an explanation for every option, not only the right one, and cites one to three published sources. A timed mock of 40 questions in 60 minutes lets you practice under exam conditions. The questions are written in advance and reviewed before they are served, never generated by AI while you study. When a question exposes a gap, you can ask AskMed in the same app, get an answer cited to journals, guidelines and drug labels, and return to the bank. Students and international graduates keep exam practice and clinical answers in one account.
The best AI apps for USMLE and the best AI apps for PLAB 1 compare AskMed with dedicated question banks.
AskMed is the better fit when you need a cited answer you can trace and control, and the only fit for anyone outside Doximity's US network. Use AskMed if you practise or study outside the United States, since Doximity's Ask page says access is for verified US clinicians. Use AskMed if you want to choose the evidence, with filters for source types, study types and 3 to 12 sources, or if you need a local brand name checked in a registry such as the EMA or medicines.org.uk. Use AskMed if you're preparing for one of 10 licensing exams, if you want an app with no pharma advertising, or if you'd rather work in French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese or Arabic. Doximity's suite also covers work outside clinical reference, such as Scribe for visit notes, Dialer for patient calls and letter drafting; AskMed doesn't write notes or letters or place calls, and focuses on cited answers and exam practice.
Checking an AI medical answer, whether it comes from AskMed, Doximity GPT or any other assistant, takes four steps, because any AI system can misread a source or leave something out. First, open the citation behind the sentence you plan to act on and confirm that the source says what the sentence says, for the same group of patients: a trial in adults doesn't answer a question about children. Second, look at the date and type of source: a current guideline outweighs an older review, and one small study is weaker than a meta-analysis. Third, check whose guidance it is, because NICE, US and European guidelines can disagree, so follow the one that applies where you practise. Fourth, take doses from the current prescribing information or your local formulary, never from an AI summary. AskMed speeds up these checks by labelling each source as a Guideline, Research, Drug label or Reference, and by giving the year of each guideline recommendation it states.
For what published studies found about general chatbots, see Is ChatGPT accurate for medical questions?
For most people who work or study in medicine, AskMed is the stronger choice over Doximity GPT. Both assistants answer clinical questions with citations, but Doximity GPT, now called Doximity Ask, is built for Doximity's network of verified US clinicians, and the Doximity app's App Store listing says the app contains advertising. AskMed works worldwide with no NPI or license number, for doctors, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and researchers alike, on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web with one account. AskMed lets you set source types, study types and 3 to 12 sources on every question, checks drug registries outside the US such as the EMA, says so when no source supports an answer, and never gives drug doses. AskMed adds question banks for 10 licensing exams, carries no pharma advertising and comes in seven languages: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese and Arabic. US clinicians who mainly want note-taking or patient calling will find those in Doximity's other tools.
For most people in medicine, yes. AskMed works in every country with no NPI or license number, lets you set source filters on every question, checks drug registries outside the US, includes question banks for 10 licensing exams, carries no pharma advertising and comes in seven languages.
Doximity now calls its clinical AI assistant Ask. A Doximity blog post of May 7, 2026 describes "Ask, formerly known as DoxGPT" as part of the Doximity Clinical AI Suite, alongside Scribe and Dialer.
Doximity GPT is Doximity's own clinical assistant for verified US clinicians, with inline citations, a drug reference and letter drafting in a HIPAA-compliant workspace. ChatGPT is OpenAI's general-purpose assistant. For how a general chatbot compares with a cited medical reference, see AskMed vs ChatGPT.
Doximity's Ask page says access is for verified US clinicians, and Doximity's help center says all members must be registered and verified U.S. healthcare professionals. AskMed works in every country and needs no US license or NPI.
The Doximity app's US App Store listing says the app contains advertising. AskMed carries no pharma advertising or sponsorship.
No. AskMed never gives medication doses, dose calculations or titration schedules, even for exam questions or hypothetical cases. A drug answer still covers what the drug is used for, how it works, first-line and alternative options, how dosing is adjusted for kidney or liver function, monitoring, side effects and safety, with each claim linked to its source. Exact doses come from the current prescribing information and the treating clinician.
| Feature | AskMed | Doximity GPT |
|---|---|---|
| Available outside the USUse it wherever you practise or study | Worldwide, no license number needed | Verified US clinicians only |
| No pharma advertisingNo sponsored answers | ✓ | App Store: Doximity app "Contains Advertising" |
| Source filters on every questionSource types, study types, 3 to 12 sources | ✓ | Not stated |
| Drug registries outside the USEMA and medicines.org.uk for local brand names | ✓ | Not stated |
| Exam question banksPLAB, USMLE, NEET-PG and 7 more | 10 licensing exams | Not stated |
| Says so when no source is foundNo answers from memory | ✓ | Not stated |
| App in seven languagesEnglish, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Arabic | ✓ | English (App Store listing) |