Built for everyone in medicine
Doctors, nurses, students, pharmacists, researchers
- AskMed
- No license needed
- Glass Health
- Licensed healthcare professionals only, per its app listings
Compare · updated Nov 6, 2026
AskMed and Glass Health are both AI tools that answer clinical questions with citations to published evidence. Glass Health, listed on the US App Store as Glass for Clinicians, describes Glass as an AI clinical decision support co-pilot that generates answers to clinical questions, differential diagnoses and evidence-based treatment plans, and its app listings say Glass is intended solely for licensed healthcare professionals. AskMed is an AI medical reference made by Loop Studio for everyone in medicine: doctors, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and researchers. Before AskMed writes an answer, AskMed searches a fixed list of medical sources, such as PubMed, the Cochrane Library, NEJM, NICE, WHO, CDC and FDA drug labels, and links every claim to its source. This page compares the two on who can use them, how each answers, which sources you control, drug registries, exam prep, advertising and languages. AskMed works worldwide on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web, with one account and no license number.
AskMed comes out ahead of Glass Health on seven features, each checked in November 2026 against Glass Health's website, its US App Store listing and its Google Play listing. First, AskMed is built for everyone in medicine, students and researchers included, while Glass Health's app listings say Glass is intended solely for licensed healthcare professionals. Second, AskMed includes question banks for 10 licensing exams, and Glass Health's own comparison with AMBOSS lists board exam preparation as "No" for Glass. Third, AskMed carries no pharma advertising, while the Glass App Store listing says the app contains advertising. Fourth, AskMed's source filters let you choose source types, study types and 3 to 12 sources. Fifth, AskMed checks official drug registries outside the US, such as the EMA. Sixth, AskMed says so when it finds no source. Seventh, the AskMed app comes in seven languages, and the Glass App Store listing names English only. Each card below shows one row.
Doctors, nurses, students, pharmacists, researchers
PLAB, USMLE, NEET-PG and 7 more
No ads, no sponsored answers
Source types, study types, 3 to 12 sources
EMA and medicines.org.uk for local brand names
No answers from memory
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Arabic
Glass Health AI is a clinical decision support platform from Glass Health Inc. that drafts differential diagnoses, assessments and plans, and answers to clinical questions for clinicians. The Glass app, listed on the US App Store as Glass for Clinicians with the subtitle "Clinical Decision Support", calls Glass an AI clinical decision support co-pilot that generates answers to clinical questions, differential diagnoses and evidence-based treatment plans. Glass Health's website describes a three-tier differential diagnosis (Most Likely, Expanded and Can't Miss), problem-based assessment and plan drafts with evidence citations, and clinical Q&A that draws on PubMed-indexed literature, current clinical guidelines and FDA drug information, with in-text citations and reference lists. Glass also sells documentation tools and lists Epic, eClinicalWorks, athenahealth and Elation workflows on its highest plan. Glass runs in the browser and as an app on iPhone, iPad and Android. Its app listings say Glass is intended solely for licensed healthcare professionals, and its App Store listing names English as the only language.
A fair Glass Health AI review starts with what Glass is built for: clinical reasoning inside the patient encounter. Glass Health's own pages say patient context persists across encounters, that you can ask follow-up questions about the patient you just saw with that patient's data already in context, and that a Deep Reasoning mode handles complex multi-system cases. For a physician who wants a structured differential with a can't-miss tier and a drafted plan next to the chart, that design is the point of Glass. Glass Health is also open about its limits on its own site: Glass says it is optimized for workflow-native reasoning and documentation rather than serving as a full-text publisher library, and that physicians who want long-form textbook or journal reading may still use a reference platform alongside it. Glass Health's comparison with AMBOSS lists board exam preparation as "No" for Glass and names practicing physicians and clinical teams as its primary audience.
AskMed and Glass Health both write cited answers, but AskMed lets you set the evidence behind each answer and states what happens when none is found. AskMed searches a fixed list of medical sources: journals and databases such as PubMed, the Cochrane Library, NEJM, The Lancet, JAMA and The BMJ; guidelines and agencies such as NICE, the USPSTF, WHO, CDC, ECDC and ESC; FDA and DailyMed drug labels, plus official registries such as the EMA and the UK's medicines.org.uk for local brand names; and references such as StatPearls and the MSD Manual. AskMed ranks guidelines first, then systematic reviews and meta-analyses, and prefers sources from the last 10 years. Source filters turn journals, guidelines, drug labels or references on or off, pick study types and set 3 to 12 sources per answer. Glass Health says its clinical Q&A draws on PubMed-indexed literature, current clinical guidelines and FDA drug information; its pages don't state user-set filters or what happens when no evidence is found.
How AskMed answers lists every source and limit in full.
AskMed is built for everyone who works or studies in medicine, while Glass Health is built around licensed clinicians. The Glass app's App Store and Google Play listings both say Glass "is intended solely for use by licensed healthcare professionals", and that by using Glass "you attest that you are a licensed clinician". Glass Health's comparison with AMBOSS names its primary audience as practicing physicians and clinical teams, and its comparison with ClinicalKey says primary care physicians and outpatient specialists managing full patient panels benefit most. AskMed asks for no license or NPI, so a medical student on a ward rotation, a pharmacist reviewing an interaction, a nurse checking a monitoring plan and a researcher scoping a question use the same app as a consultant physician. One AskMed account works on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web, and AskMed searches NICE, WHO, ECDC and ESC guidance alongside US sources such as the CDC and the USPSTF.
AskMed includes question banks for 10 licensing exams, and Glass Health's own comparison with AMBOSS lists board exam preparation as "No" for Glass. AskMed's banks cover PLAB, USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK, PLE, EDN, UKOMNAS, NEET-PG, ENARM, TUS, Ghana MDC and Israel MLE, and each bank is written in the language of its exam, such as French for EDN, Spanish for ENARM and Turkish for TUS. Every question comes with an explanation for every option, not only the right one, and cites one to three published sources. A timed mock of 40 questions in 60 minutes lets you practice under exam conditions. The questions are written in advance and reviewed before they are served, never generated by AI while you study. When a question exposes a gap, you can ask AskMed in the same app, get an answer cited to journals, guidelines and drug labels, and return to the bank. Students and international graduates keep exam practice and clinical answers in one account.
The best AI apps for USMLE and the best AI apps for PLAB 1 compare AskMed with dedicated question banks.
AskMed is a strong Glass Health alternative for anyone whose main need is a cited answer to a clinical question rather than a drafted plan inside the encounter. Choose AskMed if you study medicine, work as a nurse or pharmacist, or do research, since Glass Health's app listings limit Glass to licensed healthcare professionals. Choose AskMed if you're preparing for one of 10 licensing exams, want to set source types, study types and 3 to 12 sources on every question, need a local brand name checked in a registry such as the EMA or medicines.org.uk, or want an app with no pharma advertising in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese or Arabic. Glass Health is built around a different job: drafting differentials, assessments and plans, and notes during the visit, with Epic, eClinicalWorks, athenahealth and Elation workflows on its highest plan. AskMed doesn't draft notes, doesn't diagnose patients and doesn't decide treatment; AskMed focuses on cited answers and exam practice.
For another evidence tool limited to verified clinicians, see AskMed vs OpenEvidence.
For most people who work or study in medicine, AskMed is the stronger choice over Glass Health for cited clinical answers. Both tools answer clinical questions with citations, but Glass Health's app listings say Glass is intended solely for licensed healthcare professionals, Glass Health's own comparison page lists no board exam preparation, and its App Store listing says the app contains advertising and names English as its only language. AskMed works worldwide with no license number, for doctors, residents, medical students, nurses, pharmacists and researchers alike, on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web with one account. AskMed lets you set source types, study types and 3 to 12 sources on every question, checks drug registries outside the US such as the EMA, says so when no source supports an answer, and never gives drug doses. AskMed adds question banks for 10 licensing exams, carries no pharma advertising and comes in seven languages: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese and Arabic.
For cited answers to clinical questions, yes, for most people in medicine. AskMed is open to students and researchers as well as clinicians, lets you set source filters on every question, checks drug registries outside the US, includes question banks for 10 licensing exams and carries no pharma advertising.
Glass Health describes Glass as an AI clinical decision support co-pilot for clinicians. Its pages describe three-tier differential diagnoses, assessment and plan drafts with evidence citations, clinical Q&A with in-text citations, and documentation tools tied to the patient encounter.
Glass Health's App Store and Google Play listings say Glass is intended solely for use by licensed healthcare professionals, and that by using Glass you attest that you are a licensed clinician. AskMed is built for medical students as well as doctors, nurses, pharmacists and researchers.
Glass Health's own comparison with AMBOSS lists board exam preparation as "No" for Glass. AskMed includes question banks for PLAB, USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK, PLE, EDN, UKOMNAS, NEET-PG, ENARM, TUS, Ghana MDC and Israel MLE, with an explanation for every option and timed mocks.
No. AskMed never gives medication doses, dose calculations or titration schedules, even for exam questions or hypothetical cases. A drug answer still covers what the drug is used for, how it works, first-line and alternative options, how dosing is adjusted for kidney or liver function, monitoring, side effects and safety, with each claim linked to its source. Exact doses come from the current prescribing information and the treating clinician.
| Feature | AskMed | Glass Health |
|---|---|---|
| Built for everyone in medicineDoctors, nurses, students, pharmacists, researchers | No license needed | Licensed healthcare professionals only, per its app listings |
| Exam question banksPLAB, USMLE, NEET-PG and 7 more | 10 licensing exams | ✗ |
| No advertisingNo ads, no sponsored answers | ✓ | App Store: "Contains Advertising" |
| Source filters on every questionSource types, study types, 3 to 12 sources | ✓ | Not stated |
| Drug registries outside the USEMA and medicines.org.uk for local brand names | ✓ | Not stated |
| Says so when no source is foundNo answers from memory | ✓ | Not stated |
| App in seven languagesEnglish, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Arabic | ✓ | English (App Store listing) |