AskMed
AskMed is our pick among UpToDate alternatives because it answers the exact question you type and links every claim to its source. It works in any country, on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web.
| Answers | Written for your question, with a citation after each claim |
|---|---|
| Sources | Journals, guidelines and drug labels, plus StatPearls, the MSD Manuals and BMJ Best Practice |
| Sources per answer | 8 by default, 3 to 12 with the slider |
| No source found | Says so instead of answering from memory |
| Research Mode | Analyzes up to 20 papers |
| Doses | Never |
| Access | Works worldwide, no US licence or NPI needed |
| Devices | iPhone, iPad, Android, web |
| Languages | English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Arabic |
What is UpToDate?
UpToDate is a clinical decision support resource from Wolters Kluwer, made of expert-written topic reviews that tell clinicians how to diagnose and manage a condition. Wolters Kluwer's 2024 fact sheet lists more than 12,800 topics across 25 specialties, more than 9,900 graded recommendations and more than 7,500 authors, editors and peer reviewers, with users in 191 countries and territories. UpToDate grades its recommendations with the GRADE system, which it began using in 2006, and words them as "we recommend" or "we suggest". Drug information comes from UpToDate Lexidrug, a separate drug reference with its own app; personal UpToDate subscriptions include selected Lexidrug content. UpToDate Expert AI, a generative AI feature that answers only from UpToDate content, comes with Pro Plus and trainee subscriptions in the US and Canada. UpToDate is sold to hospitals and universities, and as personal subscriptions, including a trainee subscription for residents and students. People look for alternatives when they want a different format, different sources or access outside an institution.
The best UpToDate alternatives, ranked
The best UpToDate alternatives are AskMed, DynaMed, BMJ Best Practice, OpenEvidence, Medscape, AMBOSS, StatPearls and ClinicalKey, and each one is best at something different. AskMed comes first because it answers a specific question with a citation after every claim, works in any country without a licence or NPI, and runs on phones, tablets and the web. DynaMed and BMJ Best Practice are the closest like-for-like swaps for UpToDate: expert-written topics, structured recommendations and mobile apps. OpenEvidence is an AI search tool for verified US clinicians. Medscape is strongest on drug lookups, interaction checks and medical news. AMBOSS and StatPearls pair a reference library with question banks, which suits students and anyone preparing for an exam. ClinicalKey, from Elsevier, opens full-text books and journals and adds an AI search. The list below gives the facts for each one, taken from each company's own site or app store listing.
- DynaMed (EBSCO). A clinical reference built on systematic literature surveillance with daily updates and a seven-step evidence-based method. Recommendations are clearly defined and labelled with the level of evidence behind them. DynaMed partners with the American College of Physicians, lists Micromedex drug content among its features, tracks reading for CME and MOC credit, and has a mobile app. Dyna AI answers from DynaMed's curated content and links to the topics it used. Best at: an evidence-graded swap for UpToDate.
- BMJ Best Practice (BMJ). Structured around the clinical workflow, with step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention, updated daily, and used by healthcare professionals in more than 100 countries. The app works offline with over 1,000 conditions, reading is logged automatically for CME/CPD to support appraisal and revalidation, and you can connect your preferred drug database. Best at: offline use and stepwise management.
- OpenEvidence. AI medical search for healthcare professionals; its App Store listing says an NPI is required and that users must verify their status. OpenEvidence is an official AI partner of NEJM, the JAMA Network, Nature and Cochrane, has an AI collaboration with NCCN, and cites every claim. Best at: US clinicians who want AI answers drawn from licensed journal content.
- Medscape (WebMD). A reference app for healthcare professionals with prescribing and safety information on 9,200+ drugs, herbals and supplements, a drug interaction checker, a pill identifier, 450+ calculators, procedure videos, medical news and a CME tracker. Best at: quick drug and interaction checks plus news.
- AMBOSS. A medical library and question banks in one, for students and clinicians. The clinician app has smart search, differential diagnoses, management steps and a drug database, and works offline. AMBOSS is an ACCME-accredited CME provider, and its AI Mode is a study copilot that turns questions and uploaded material into explanations and question sessions. Best at: students moving from exam study to the wards. See how it compares for exams in our USMLE guide.
- StatPearls. A publisher of peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed review articles hosted on the NCBI Bookshelf, with CME/CE activities and question banks for more than 540 board and subspecialty exams. Each question links to its article, and its nursing question banks were built with the American Nurses Association. Best at: board review across professions.
- ClinicalKey (Elsevier). Clinical search across reference books, journals, clinical overviews, drug monographs, guidelines and procedure videos, for physicians, nurses, pharmacists and students, sold in 43 specialty packages and to institutions. ClinicalKey AI adds generative AI search over full-text content such as The Lancet, NEJM and Braunwald's, with linked citations. Best at: reading the full textbook chapter or paper.
UpToDate alternatives compared
UpToDate alternatives fall into three groups, and the table below sorts all eight by type, strength and access. Topic references (DynaMed and BMJ Best Practice) work like UpToDate: you open a topic written by experts and read the recommendations. AI answer tools (AskMed, OpenEvidence and ClinicalKey AI) answer the question you type and cite the sources they used, which is faster for a narrow question but asks you to open the citation before you act. Learning platforms (AMBOSS and StatPearls) add question banks and CME to a reference library. Medscape sits apart as a drug, calculator and news app. Access differs as much as content: OpenEvidence requires a US NPI, several tools are sold mainly to institutions, and AskMed works in any country without a licence. Where a maker's site does not say something, the table says "Not stated" rather than guessing. For how AskMed's citations work, read how AskMed answers.
| App | Type | Best at | Access |
|---|---|---|---|
| AskMed | AI answers with citations | A cited answer to your exact question, on the phone | Worldwide, no licence or NPI |
| DynaMed | Topic reference + Dyna AI | Evidence-graded topics with daily updates | Individual and institutional subscriptions |
| BMJ Best Practice | Topic reference | Stepwise management, offline app, CME/CPD log | Personal or institutional subscription |
| OpenEvidence | AI medical search | AI answers from NEJM, JAMA and NCCN content | Verified healthcare professionals, NPI required |
| Medscape | Drug and news app | Drug lookups, interaction checks, calculators | Not stated |
| AMBOSS | Library + question banks | Studying for exams and the wards in one app | Individual plans and schools |
| StatPearls | Articles + board review | Question banks for 540+ board exams, CME/CE | Individual plans |
| ClinicalKey | Full-text library + AI search | Reading the source book or journal in full | Individual specialty packages and institutions |
UpToDate vs DynaMed: what is the difference?
UpToDate and DynaMed are both evidence-based clinical references with expert-written topics, graded recommendations, mobile apps and CME tracking, and both now offer an AI assistant that answers only from their own content. The differences are in method, drug content and partners. UpToDate, from Wolters Kluwer, grades its recommendations with GRADE, which it has used since 2006, and pairs its topics with UpToDate Lexidrug drug information. DynaMed, from EBSCO, describes a seven-step evidence-based method with systematic literature surveillance and daily updates, labels the level of evidence behind its recommendations, partners with the American College of Physicians and lists Micromedex drug content. UpToDate Expert AI and Dyna AI both answer from their publisher's topics and link back to them. For many clinicians the choice comes down to which one their hospital or university already subscribes to. If you want a cited answer to a specific question from guidelines, journals and drug labels, AskMed works alongside either one.
How to choose an UpToDate alternative
The right UpToDate alternative depends on what you use UpToDate for, so start with your most common task and pick the tool that is best at it. A clinician who needs a quick answer between patients wants speed and citations. A student wants a reference that also teaches through questions. A pharmacist wants drug and interaction checks. A doctor outside the US, or anyone without a hospital login, needs a tool they can sign up for directly. Try each tool with three questions you asked recently, and open the sources behind the answers: a good reference shows exactly where each statement comes from and how recent it is. The five needs below cover most of the reasons people look beyond UpToDate, with the tools that fit each one best. Keep in mind that guidelines differ between countries, so check that a tool covers the guidance you follow, such as NICE in the UK.
- Speed. For one narrow question, an AI answer tool is faster than reading a full topic. AskMed answers in the same app on your phone, tablet or laptop.
- Citations you can check. AskMed links every claim to its source and labels each one as a guideline, research, drug label or reference. OpenEvidence and ClinicalKey AI also cite their sources.
- Mobile and offline. BMJ Best Practice and AMBOSS have apps that work offline. AskMed runs on iPhone, iPad, Android and the web with one account.
- Exam study. AMBOSS and StatPearls pair a library with question banks. AskMed also has exam question banks for USMLE, PLAB, the PLE and seven other exams, each with sources for every question.
- Global access. OpenEvidence requires a US NPI. AskMed works worldwide and needs no licence or NPI, and it answers in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese or Arabic.
Questions
Is UpToDate free for medical students and residents?
Medical students and residents get UpToDate in one of two ways: through an institution that subscribes, or through a personal subscription. Many medical schools, universities and hospitals subscribe to UpToDate, so check your library or hospital intranet before you pay for anything yourself. For personal use, Wolters Kluwer sells an UpToDate trainee subscription to residents, fellows and medical, pharmacy, nursing and dental students. You must show proof of trainee status, such as a letter from your program director, the first and last pages of your contract, or an ID badge with an expiration date. In the US and Canada, the trainee subscription includes UpToDate Expert AI. Subscriptions bought at the trainee rate do not earn CME, CE or CPD credit. If you want cited answers on your phone without an institutional login, AskMed works in any country, needs no licence or NPI, and is built for students and qualified clinicians alike.
What is the best alternative to UpToDate?
For a cited answer to a specific question, on any device and in any country, AskMed. For a topic reference that works like UpToDate, DynaMed or BMJ Best Practice. For exam study, AMBOSS or StatPearls.
Is DynaMed better than UpToDate?
Neither is better for everyone. Both are evidence-based references with graded recommendations and AI assistants. UpToDate uses GRADE and Lexidrug drug information; DynaMed uses daily literature surveillance, levels of evidence and Micromedex drug content.
Can AskMed replace UpToDate?
AskMed covers a different need: it answers the exact question you ask, with a citation to a guideline, journal or drug label after each claim. UpToDate is not among the sources AskMed searches. AskMed answers are written by AI, so open the cited source before you act on one.
Do I need a US licence or an NPI to use AskMed?
No. AskMed works worldwide, and you don't need a medical licence or an NPI to sign up.
Does AskMed give drug doses?
No. AskMed explains what a drug is used for, how it works, side effects and monitoring, but never states doses. Exact dosing comes from the current prescribing information.
